On Friday last week (21st Jan) I received a letter through the post from Memolane.  Inside I was thrilled to find some Memolane stickers!  I have promptly affixed one to the lid of my netbook.

Memolane is an excellent service that lets you capture photos, music, tweets, posts (and more) and allows you to share them via a timeline based user interface.  In fact the presentation of the information is what really makes Memolane so interesting.  It offers horizontal scrolling through time (days) and vertical scrolling through your various feeds.

Take a look at my ‘lane‘ to see how it works.

There are a couple of other key points to this service that I find incredibly useful.  As I mentioned in an earlier post, Memolane have introduced the ability to mark individual streams/feeds as either private or public.  This means I can share my personal moments with friends and family whilst maintaining a public presentation of my other feeds.

For example, I like to share out more personal photos with family and friends but may not want to share them out publicly.  At the same time, I want somewhere that I can consolidate and share my public ramblings. What I don’t want to do is maintain another two separate services.  This is where Memolane wins for me.  I can combine all my usual feeds but mark individual ones as private.  The result is a single source (lane) of my consolidated feeds that shows content tailored to the specific audience.

The other key feature for me is the ability to search the lane.  I find this very useful for locating old tweets (for example).  There are two ways I look for older posts.  If I know the date I posted it I can simply scroll horizontally to that date and then vertically to peruse posts from that day or I can use the in-built search function and search by keyword.

Memolane currently supports a number of feeds/services, covering the most popular but I am sure there are more in the pipeline.

I really like this service.  I’m sure the team are busily adding features all the time.  Check out their blog for more details.

As always, I’d love to hear what you think if you already use Memolane or if you try it out for the first time.  Please drop a comment below and share your thoughts.

I am @craigt44 on Twitter.

