I tried out the Squarespace service today, really just to see what it was all about.

I can report that it's very impressive and makes both the initial build of and the maintenance of your website very straightforward indeed.  Pretty much any element of the site can be tailored, widgets added, themes installed or even edited.  

I've no intention of posting a full review of the site, I am no website builder.  I was looking at it as a solution for simplifying the task of maintaining a website (as I don't currently have the skills) and it works really well.  I think it's fair to say that it still requires a pretty deep knowledge of web design and so it doesn't offer me much over the likes of Posterous.

Maybe I should go input some web design knowledge into my brain…..

Anyway, take a look, there's a 15 day free trial that lets you do everything.  After the 15 days it starts from just $8 / month.  You don't need to input any card details for the free trial and you won't automatically be put onto a paid option at the end of the trial.  

If you try it out let me know what you think.

www.squarespace.com

